American Institute of Indian Studies

Organization & Administration

An Organization of Scholars

Scholars who serve on the Institute’s Board of Trustees, as well as officers and committee members, donate their time. The American headquarters staff works with all aspects of fellowship and language program administration and with fellows and students until their departure for India. Upon their arrival in India, the Delhi staff assumes responsibilty for each scholar and student. The national headquarters of the Institute in India is located in Gurgaon, just outside of New Delhi, with an office in Defence Colony, New Delhi. Regional offices are located in Kolkata and Pune.


  • Board of Trustees
  • Indian Advisory Committee
  • Bi-National Committee
  • Selection Committee
  • Committee on Art & Archaeology
  • Committee on Ethnomusicology
  • Language Program Committee
  • Committee on International Learning

Board of Trustees

Philip Lutgendorf, President
Asian and Slavic Languages and Literatures
University of Iowa

John Cort, Secretary
Department of Religion
Denison University

William Vijay Pinch, Treasurer
Department of History
Wesleyan University

Ralph W. Nicholas, Chair, Board of Trustees
Department of Anthropology
University of Chicago


Srimati Basu
Department of Gender and Women’s Studies
University of Kentucky

Michael Fisher
Department of History
Oberlin College

Shah Mahmoud Hanifi
History Department
James Madison University

Sunila Kale
Jackson School of International Studies
University of Washington

Frank Korom
Department of Religion
Boston University

Sarah Lamb
Department of Anthropology
Brandeis University

Sumathi Ramaswamy
Department of History
Duke University

K. Sivaramakrishnan
Department of Anthropology
Yale University

Cecilia Van Hollen
Department of Anthropology
Syracuse University

Standing Committee Chairs

Susan Bean, Art and Archaeology Committee
Peabody Museum, Harvard University

Anthony Seeger, Ethnomusicology Committee
Department of Ethnomusicology
University of California, Los Angeles

Rebecca Manring, Language Committee
Department of Religious Studies
Indiana University

Susan Wadley, Publications Committee
Department of Anthropology
Syracuse University

Sandria Freitag, Committee on International Learning
Department of History
North Carolina State University

Ex Officio

Elise Auerbach, U.S. Director

For further information, please contact:

American Institute of Indian Studies (AIIS)

1130 East 59th Street
Chicago, Illinois 60637
(773) 702-8638

Contact: Elise Auerbach, U.S. Director

Make a Gift

Make a Gift


For questions about gifts to AIIS, please contact

Contact AIIS

USA Email:
USA Phone: (773) 702-8638

India Email:
India Phone: 91-124-238 1424
or 91-124-238 1359

Get More Contact Info Here

Sign up for AIIS News and Events