Past AIIS Book Prize Winners

2017 Winners

Radkhia Govindrajan, Animal Intimacies: Interspecies Relations in India’s Central Himalayas (Edward Cameron Dimock Jr. Prize in the Indian Humanities)

Diane Coffey and Dean Spears,Where India Goes: Abandoned Toilets, Stunted Development, and the Costs of Caste (Joseph W. Elder Prize in the Indian Social Sciences)

2016 Winner

Anand TanejaJinnealogy: Time, Islam, and Ecological Thought in the Medieval Ruins of Delhi (The Joseph W. Elder Prize in the Indian Social Sciences)

2015 Winners

Walter Hakala, Negotiating Terms: Urdu Dictionaries and the Definition of Modern South Asia (Edward Cameron Dimock Jr. Prize in the Indian Humanities)
Bhrigupati Singh, Poverty and the Quest for Life: Spiritual and Material Striving in Rural India (Joseph W. Elder Prize in the Indian Social Sciences)

2014 Winners

Lisa Bjorkman, Pipe Politics: Mumbai’s Contested Waters (Joseph W. Elder Prize in the Indian Social Sciences)
Jessica Marie Falcone, Battling the Buddha of Love: A Cultural Biography of the Greatest Statue Never Built (Edward C. Dimock Prize in the Indian Humanities)

2013 Winner

Sunila Kale, University of Washington, Electrifying India: Regional Political Economies of Development

2011 Winner

Karin Zitzewitz, Michigan State University,  The Art of Secularism: The Cultural Politics of Modernist Art in Contemporary India.

2010 Winners

Melissa Kerin, College of William and Mary, Tracing Lines of Devotion: Politics, Faith, and Art at a Western Himalayan Buddhist Temple.

Cathleen Cummings, currently of Wellesley College, for her manuscript Kingship and Duty, Gods and Liberation:  Reading the Imagery on a Hindu Temple. 2008 Winner Ramnarayan S. Rawat, University of Pennsylvania for Untouchable Boundaries of Colonialism and Nationalism: Rethinking Histories of Untouchability in North India.

2007 Winners

Karline McLain, Bucknell University, India’s Immortal Comic Books: Gods, Kings and Other Heroes

Michael Youngblood, Cultivating Communities: Identity, Ambiguity and the Construction of Common Interest in a Contemporary Indian Social Movement

2006 Winners

Lisa Mitchell, University of Notre Dame. The Making of a Mother Tongue: Language, Emotion, and Collective Identity in Colonial and Post-colonial Southern India

Mytheli Sreenivas, Ohio State University. Conjugality and Capital: Family and Colonial Modernity in Tamil India, 1880-1950

2005 Winner

Richard Kent Wolf, Harvard University. The Black Cow’s Footprint: Time, Space and Music in the Lives of the Kotas of South India (Edward Cameron Dimock Jr. Prize in the Indian Humanities)

2004 Winners

Deborah Hutton, College of New Jersey. Art of the Court of Bijapur.

Sondra Hausner, Research Advisor for Save the Children-US (Nepal) Wandering in Place: Body, Space, and Time for Hindu Renouncers

2003 Winners

Aseema Sinha, U of Wisconsin, Madison. The Regional Roots of Developmental Politics in India: A Divided Leviathan. March 2005.

Pika Ghosh, University of North Carolina. Temple to Love: Architecture and Devotion in Seventeenth-Century Bengal. March 2005.